Song of the Week (Revamped) #17-New Year’s Eve by Mal Blum


song of the week revamped

Song of the Week is a weekly meme of some of my current favourite songs or songs that I can’t get out of my head. Leave your favourite songs and I’ll be sure to check them out.

a3708585723_10

Mal Blum writes often self-referential, first-person narratives, sets them to music containing elements from anti-folk, punk or folk genres and tours nationally, usually alone in a little car, but sometimes with a band or another songwriter for company.

With a song that’s so sad yet so relatable it’s crazy that I haven’t heard of this girl before. The song, albeit whiny really gets to you. Why? because her lyrics and the images they create are extremely vivid and smooth that you feel like the one watching the events unfold. It’s a long song but every time it comes on, I don’t have the heart to stop it when I reach my lectures. I just let it play until the crying is over.

Favourite part:

We’re not friends

Friends don’t do the things we did

And the ones you’ve done since then makes think we’ve never been

When is this night gonna end?

Are you lying in her bed?

All these questions hit my head

Hey where’s the whiskey at again

You were discombobulated

When you showed up at my door

Leaving glitter on my floor

But I don’t like you anymore

Listen to the song here.

Lyrics are here.

Leave a Reply

