Album Review: Overnight by Parachute

images (5)Overnight by Parachute

Record Label: Island Def Jam

Genre: Pop

Release Date: August 13, 2013

Songs: 11
good good

Parachute is an American pop band from Charlottesville, Virginia that formed around 2008. Since then, they have released three albums-Losing Sleep, The Way it Was, and Overnight. Current band members are: Will Anderson (vocals, guitar, keyboard), Johnny Stubblefield (drums), Alex Hargrave (bass), Kit French (Saxophone, Keyboard, vocals), and Nate McFarland (guitar, vocals).


From the reviews that I’ve read this album is a hit or miss. You either love it or you don’t and I’m not sure where I stand on that scale. Some songs are great–catchy with a very poppy up-beat tune that have swoon-worthy vocals that I have fallen for time and time again in the past. But then there are the songs that are too poppy and too much for my taste, leaving me either cringing from cheesy lyrics or sighing from simplistic instrumental parts.

Hurricane is one of those cringe worthy songs. Sure, it’s different from their older stuff so kudos to them but they’ve ventured too much and crossed into the line of Maroon Five squeakiness. With their last album, the band moved towards a country/alternative sound that, for the most part, sounds really good. It suits the bands easy sweetheart feel with soft melodies and lyrics about sunshine and love. Now this album has shifted gears and moves towards poppy/barely-alternative-but-whatever sounds that don’t work out. There is just too much going on. Very few bands can actually work with techno beats and still sound great.

Well, at least the songs are catchy and light.

Overnight is pretty different from their old stuff. It’s sucks to watch a band with so much potential and warmth and sweetness head in a great direction and then make a sharp turn into one that they should never go to. I don’t recommend this album to anyone but I do recommend this band to anyone looking for a light, so sweet you’ll get cavities band that make lovely songs about love. Because, really, who doesn’t want that?

1.5 Depressing Treble Clefs
1.5 Depressing Treble Clefs

Songs On The Album (Click on the title to listen to the song!)

1. Meant To Be-3:25

2. Can’t Help-3:23

3. Drive You Home-3:50

4. Hurricane-4:10

5. Overnight-4:12

6. Didn’t See It Coming-3:32

7. The Other Side-3:47

8. Waiting For That Call-3:16

9. The Only One-3:56

10. Disappear-4:04

11. Higher-3:33

Album Review: Sunflower by Never Shout Never

images (2)

Sunflower by Never Shout Never

Record Label: Loveway Records

Genre: Indie/Pop

Release Date: June 28, 2013

Songs: 12
Sunflower - Never Shout Never

Never Shout Never is an American indie/pop band, formed in Joplin, Missouri in 2007. The group has released Five full-length albums: What Is Love?, Harmony, Time Travel, Indigo, and Sunflower  and four EPs: The Summer EP, Never Shout Never , Me And My Uke, and The Yippee. The band was first a one-man show with only Christofer Drew who started by posting a few songs on Myspace. Now, the band has a bassist who does vocals (Taylor MacFee) and a drummer who also plays guitar and does vocals (Hayden Kaiser).


I really hate to say it, but I think it’s time Never Shout Never called it quits. And I hate, repeat hate when bands break up. No mater how much or how little I enjoy the band, it just sucks that they’re letting their fans down. But this’s just letting the fans down either way.

Almost every about this album gets on my nerves. Especially Aeroplane because it sounds exactly like California only with different lyrics. The vocals throughout the album are drawn out to the point where I can’t bring myself to care what he’s saying or even try to pay attention. I can deal with a few slow songs with a nice beat to accompany it but I can’t deal with slow vocals and then fast guitar and drum parts.

Lady Bug is a really well written song, I love the live version they did on their YouTube channel instead of this one. The version on Sunflower is very loud and not in a comforting way. But, I still like the song itself with the romantically sad lyrics and great guitar riffs. Sunflower is just a really depressing album. Not because of the songs, but because of the band. I don’t recommend this to anyone. If anyone wants to find new music, stick to the old Never Shout Never I think everyone can agree that it’s a lot better.

one ah
1.5 Sad Treble Clefs

Songs On The Album (Click on the title to listen to the song!)

1.New Sound– 3:38

2. Good Times-4:06

3. Wild Child-3:07

4. I Need You-3:08

5. Falling Up-3:10

6. Subliminal Messages-2:44

7. Aeroplane-4:01

8. Sunflower-3:03

9. Malibu-2:24

10. Knock, Knock-3:35

11. Old Timer-3:00

12. Ladybug-2:39