Book Review: My Date from Hell (Blooming Goddess Trilogy#2) by Tellulah Darling


17305421

My Date from Hell (Blooming Goddess Trilogy#2) by Tellulah Darling

Publisher: Tu Da Media

Genre: Fantasy and Young Adult

Release Date: October 31, 2013

Pages: 288 (Paperback)

good

Sophie Bloom’s junior year has been a bit of a train wreck. After the world’s greatest kiss re-awakened Sophie’s true identity as Persephone (Goddess of Spring and Savior of Humanity), she fought her dragon-lady guidance counselor to the death, navigated mean girl Bethany’s bitchy troublemaking, and dealt with the betrayal of her backstabbing ex, Kai (sexy Prince of Darkness). You’d think a girl could catch a break.

Yeah, right.

With Zeus stepping things up, it’s vital that Sophie retrieve Persephone’s memories and discover the location of the ritual to stop Zeus and Hades. So when Aphrodite strikes a deal that can unlock Sophie’s pre-mortal past, what choice does the teen goddess have but to accept?

The mission: stop media mogul Hermes from turning Bethany into a global mega-celebrity. The catch? Aphrodite partners Sophie and Kai to work together … and treat this suicide mission as a date. Which could work out for Sophie’s plan to force Kai to admit his feelings for her–if she doesn’t kill him first.

Add to that the fact that BFF Theo’s love life and other BFF Hannah’s actual life are in Sophie’s hands, and suddenly being a teenager—even a godlike one—seems a bit like … well, hell. Whatever happened to dinner and a movie?

First of all, I would like to thank the author, Tellulah Darling for giving me an ARC of this book to review. Thank you so much! Really appreciate it! All right, now for my review.

opinion

Now that I’m getting into more mythology, I know for a fact that this series, The Blooming Goddess Series is definitely one of my favourite ones! It’s just so fun with just enough seriousness that I get that life isn’t just fun and games. Tellulah Darling really outdoes herself and adds in more fun and a lot more action with Gods and Goddesses that I wasn’t necessarily expecting to make an appearance in this. Although it has it’s faults, this is a really solid story that had me hooked from the beginning all the way to the end! I can;t wait for the final novel now.

Something that I wanted to happen in the novel was for the friendship between Hannah and Sophie to be tested a lot more that it is and for them to face many obstacles, emotionally and not just physically. Their relationship in the first one is believable but in this one, it just seems a bit forced without much of the jealousy and pain that I would think Hannah would encounter upon following her friends on such a crazy ride.

Sophie is better than before! Her dark humour and anger are back with such intensity that I found myself re-reading a passage just to laugh again. And again. And again. I also loved that there aren’t any new love interests in this novel. With most second novels, there’s usually another love interest that’s added to the bunch but I enjoyed that the new characters have no interest in Sophie or Kai but instead in the other secondary characters. Finally, Hannah gets to experience some loving! The relationship between Kai and Sophie is complex and steamy at best. And I. Love. All. Of. It. Seriously, I was either laughing really hard or seriously jealous of Sophie because of the way kai treats her like the Goddess that she is.

My Date from Hell is spicy and sweet with just the right amount of action. I recommend this novel to anyone who has read the first one and recommend this series to anyone looking for something about Greek mythology that’s fun, has loads of action, and all the Gods and Goddesses are in young adult form! (For most, anyway.)

4 Dreamy Clouds

4 Dreamy Clouds

 

For quotes from this book, click here.

One thought on “Book Review: My Date from Hell (Blooming Goddess Trilogy#2) by Tellulah Darling

  1. Pingback: Blitz: My Date from Hell (Blooming Goddess Trilogy #2) by Tellulah Darling | Why I Can't stop Reading

Leave a Reply

