Twisted By Laurie Halse Anderson


 

3.8/5-This book was funny while a bit sad. I’ve read two other books by Laurie Halse Anderson but Twisted is my favourite for sure.

(Summary)

High school senior Tyler Miller used to be the kind of guy who faded into the background—average student, average looks, average dysfunctional family. But since he got busted for doing graffiti on the school, and spent the summer doing outdoor work to pay for it, he stands out like you wouldn’t believe. His new physique attracts the attention of queen bee Bethany Milbury, who just so happens to be his father’s boss’s daughter, the sister of his biggest enemy—and Tyler’s secret crush. And that sets off a string of events and changes that have Tyler questioning his place in the school, in his family, and in the world.

(My Opinion)

Twisted By Laurie Halse Anderson is told in Tyler’s point of view. Tyler’s thoughts and emotions were funny at times while still intense at some parts. Most of the characters were easy to like and enjoy because of their humour and awkwardness. The idea for this story is good, I liked the challenges Tyler had to faced but I wish he was more depressed and talked about his feelings more than he did.

It was hard to get into this book because the beginning didn’t really stand out for me. Also, I wished Tyler was more depressed about things. Even though I loved his humour and his thoughts on what he wanted to do to some people, I felt like Laurie Anderson could have made him more depressed and angry or something along those lines.

The chapters were really short and easy to read. Like I said before, I loved Tyler’s humour because he was so funny not only with the stuff that he said but also his thoughts. The thoughts that were going through his mind when he was near Bethany or Chip. My favourite part wasn’t the ending, but somewhere near it when Tyler finally snapped at someone. It’s my favourite part because he knew he couldn’t do what he wanted so he had to take his anger out on something instead of someone.

I would recommend this to anyone who needs a boom that’s an easy and fast read while funny and serious at some times. Also, if you want something that isn’t your regular boy-gets-girl story.

Leave a Reply

