Album Review:Say Hello by Alexander


Alexander- 'Say Hello'

Say Hello by Alexander

Record Label: I Am Mighty Records

Genre: pop/rock

Release Date: April 26, 2013

Songs: 8

Say Hello - Alexander

Hailing from Newcastle, Indie Rock 4 piece ‘Alexander’ are releasing their debut album ‘Say Hello’ in early 2013 on I Am Mighty Records. The band have been creating a buzz across the UK already. The first single ‘You Lost Youself’ taken from the record is out now, with a beautiful acoustic version of the song as a B-side. Taking influence from the likes of Jimmy Eat World, Futures and Two Door Cinema Club, ‘Alexander’ are bringing a punchy and appealing sound to the indie UK music scene.

First of all, I would like to thank the record label, I Am Mighty Records (More importantly, Dave) for giving me this album to review. Thank you so much! Really appreciate it! All right, now for my review.

(My Opinion)

There isn’t one word that can sum up a band like Alexander. For the past few hours, I’ve been thinking of a way to rate their album, Say Hello and decide what kind of audience this will appeal to. When I listened to this album for the first time, I was skeptical. I was expecting a band that didn’t exactly know what they wanted or where they were heading. But Alexander didn’t give me that, instead, they gave me the exact opposite. The album starts off with upbeat, catchy songs with, Say Hello and Maybe I Was Wrong then ends on a much softer note with, Old Fashioned Romance, leaving listeners in a daze of things that could have happened but didn’t. This is definitely an album to go buy!

One of my pet peeves for music is repetition. Of course, songs are supposed to repeat certain lines (the chorus of course). But I can’t stand it when songs are mostly just the same phrase repeated over and over again without a verse or something to break it up. Sadly, this is the case with, Find My Way Out, and Without A Parachute. For both songs, the title is just repeated over and over again. Also, the bass in most of the songs gets lost and is quite easy to forget about. I wish the band brought out the bass a little more to remind listeners that it is still there.

For as far as the good things about this album go, there’s a lot of personality in this. I can’t express just how much I love the guitar pieces in every one of these songs especially in, Find My Way Out. There is such a cool solo part in this one! Another thing I like about this album is how sweet it is. A Sweet Song has to be one of the sweetest songs I’ve ever heard. It has to be illegal not to fall in love with its lyrics about young love and life. The drummer knows his stuff! It’s interesting and different, drawing attention yet not overpowering the songs as a whole. I feel this way about all of the drumming parts especially in, Find My Way Out and You Lost Yourself. 

Say Hello by Alexander is not what I was expecting. But I’m glad that they surprised me with their sound. Their music doesn’t appeal to one set of listeners and not even one genre of music. I recommend this album to everyone who likes alternative rock and acoustic stuff mostly because these music lovers will enjoy it the most.   My favourite songs on Say Hello by Alexander are, A Sweet Song, Maybe I Was Wrong, Say Hello, and You Lost Yourself. Alexander has definitely showed the world what they’re about and only a sliver of what they’re capable of. Whatever they release next will hopefully be nothing less than amazing.

4 awesome Treble Clefs

4 awesome Treble Clefs

Sorry there isn’t links to all sings but there is an album teaser! Click Here.

Songs Of The Album

1. Say Hello

2. Maybe I Was Wong

3. You Lost Yourself

4. Find My Way Out

5. A Sweet Song

6. Vapour Trails

7. Without A Parachute

8. Old Fashioned Romance

Leave a Reply

