Book Review: Fan Art by Sarah Tregay


17924987Fan Art by Sarah Tregay

Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books

Genre: Contemporary and Young Adult

Release Date: June 17, 2014

Pages: 368 (Hardcover)

good good

When the picture tells the story…

Senior year is almost over, and Jamie Peterson has a big problem. Not college—that’s all set. Not prom—he’ll find a date somehow. No, it’s the worst problem of all: he’s fallen for his best friend.

As much as Jamie tries to keep it under wraps, everyone seems to know where his affections lie, and the giggling girls in art class are determined to help Jamie get together with Mason. But Jamie isn’t sure if that’s what he wants—because as much as Jamie would like to come clean to Mason, what if the truth ruins everything? What if there are no more road trips, taco dinners, or movie nights? Does he dare risk a childhood friendship for romance?

First of all, I would like to thank the publisher, Katherine Tegen Books for giving me an ARC of this book to review. Thank you so much! Really appreciate it! All right, now for my review.

opinion

Everyone has a weak spot for a certain genre of books. While my ‘me’ books are realistic with teens that have serious, life threatening problems, I have an unbelievable weak spot for GLBT, more specifically gay boys. I don’t even fucking know why or how this came to be but it is what it is. Anyway, moving onto the book, Fan Art is a hit or miss type of book. It’s cute and light, with some deep undertones however, it’s also judgemental and stereotypical. For me, this story was a miss that was almost a hit.

I’ll start the bad stuff off with the representation of the GLBT community. The stereotypes of what makes a gay boy gay is horrible. I was angry with the way that Jamie thinks that since he never played with dolls, never played dress up, and plays sports that it’s crazy that he turned out gay. Another thing that I disliked about Fan Art is the school part of it all.  I get that it’s all about the art but Jamie gets a scholarship to play music at a university yet there is close to no music explained in the whole book. I’m a band kid, I was excited once he mentioned he’s in band but it’s not properly explained how he practices and lets the music take hold of him. It’s just straightforward boring. The relationship between Jamie and Mason was also a problem for me because it feels a bit contrived at many times. Readers are told they’re extremely close but for a lot of the novel, I didn’t feel it since there aren’t enough flashbacks and such to support their relationship.

My relationship with Jamie is a love/hate one. I hated how harsh and stupid he is but I loved how awkward and nervous he is. He remind me of myself and I could relate to his situation because it happened to myself. I was screaming, laughing, and all around flipping out whenever something happened between Jamie and Mason. I just couldn’t stop myself. The writing is smooth and relaxed, I found myself reading instead of studying for my exams many times. Adding on to all of that, I loved that Tregay decided to add in the art works that are featured in Gumshoe. The poems and visual art pieces make the story more unique.

Fan Art is not a book for everyone. Although it is light, it has a few problems and some of them are offensive. However, I found some things to be enjoyable, like the romance and the characters despite them being undeveloped. I recommend this to anyone looking for a story to pass the time and enjoy fun albeit underdeveloped characters, art, and don’t mind a typical love story.

3 Clouds

3 Clouds

 

For quotes from this book, click here.

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Fan Art by Sarah Tregay

  1. Great review, Abbe! When I saw that you were reading this on Goodreads I was so excited to read your opinion, and I’m glad that we’re on the same page for a lot of things. Jamie is likeable in some ways but also not, and I didn’t even think about how Tregay glossed over the music part of the book – indeed, I felt like so much of Jamie’s life (his other friends, his music, his extra-curricular life in general) were put on hold because of his feelings for Mason. Still, I’m glad that you enjoyed the book to an extent and that you were able to write such an evenhanded review of it after finishing it.

    • Thank you!

      I wanted to like it more than I did but I couldn’t. First of all, music is a huge part of his life! You can’t just cut that out… I’m glad that we agreed on this book too!

Leave a Reply

