Book Review: Let’s Get Lost by Adi Alsaid


18812437Let’s Get Lost by Adi Alsaid

Publisher: Harlequin Teen

Genre: Contemporary and Young Adult

Release Date: July 29, 2014

Pages: 352 (Hardcover)

good good

Five strangers. Countless adventures. One epic way to get lost.

Four teens across the country have only one thing in common: a girl named LEILA. She crashes into their lives in her absurdly red car at the moment they need someone the most.

There’s HUDSON, a small-town mechanic who is willing to throw away his dreams for true love. And BREE, a runaway who seizes every Tuesday—and a few stolen goods along the way. ELLIOT believes in happy endings…until his own life goes off-script. And SONIA worries that when she lost her boyfriend, she also lost the ability to love.

Hudson, Bree, Elliot and Sonia find a friend in Leila. And when Leila leaves them, their lives are forever changed. But it is during Leila’s own 4,268-mile journey that she discovers the most important truth— sometimes, what you need most is right where you started. And maybe the only way to find what you’re looking for is to get lost along the way.

First of all, I would like to thank the publisher, Harlequin Teen for giving me an ARC of this book to review. Thank you so much! Really appreciate it! All right, now for my review.

opinion

 

Cute and inspirational, Let’s Get Lost is the perfect summer read that’s actually about summer. I’ve never been one to indulge in unrealistic contemporary novels but when I started this one, I couldn’t help that I loved it. Road trip stories are usually fun but this one is heartwarming as well.

The book starts off a little boring. Instead of going with the flow, it’s trying too hard to be meaningful. Another problem that I had is the main character, Leila. I wanted to know more about her when she picked up the other characters. For almost the whole book, I was left in the dark about her and then when I did get information, it was too late for me to actually care.

Moving onto the things I did enjoy like the amazing description for everything. Like I can really picture everything. This goes well with the writing that’s well done despite the fact that it’s written in third  person. I found it easier to relate to the characters which I also found to be properly done and realistic. They’re unique and fun to read about. Throughout the book, I liked how Leila mentions the other characters also, making sure to connect all of their stories.

Let’s Get Lost isn’t just a book about a road trip to see the northern lights. It’s about being lost and then finding yourself. It’s a great book that I recommend that everyone to read and hopefully enjoy before the summer ends.

4 Dreamy Clouds

4 Dreamy Clouds

 

For quotes from this book, click here.

Leave a Reply

