Book Review: Taken (Taken#1) by Erin Bowman


11044367

Taken (Taken#1) by Erin Bowman

Publisher: HarperTeen

Genre: Dystopian and Young Adult

Release Date: April 16, 2013

Pages: 360 (Hardcover)

good good

There are no men in Claysoot. There are boys—but every one of them vanishes at midnight on his eighteenth birthday. The ground shakes, the wind howls, a blinding light descends…and he’s gone.

They call it the Heist.

Gray Weathersby’s eighteenth birthday is mere months away, and he’s prepared to meet his fate–until he finds a strange note from his mother and starts to question everything he’s been raised to accept: the Council leaders and their obvious secrets. The Heist itself. And what lies beyond the Wall that surrounds Claysoot–a structure that no one can cross and survive.

Climbing the Wall is suicide, but what comes after the Heist could be worse. Should he sit back and wait to be taken–or risk everything on the hope of the other side?

opinion


This is a great book. I loved everything about it! Especially Gray who is the epitome of Swoony. He’s so sweet with the way he acts with Emma and Bree. I also loved the world building, the country is properly built and so realistic! Taken had me guessing at every turn and is full of great surprises that will leave readers-

Taken is a really bad book. This week, both book reviews have been on books that start out awesome but quickly fall flat on their faces. The only difference between these two books is that this one is far worse than Kindness for Weakness because this one is predictable before getting to the halfway point. And with that, instead of actually reviewing this I’m going to list everything I hated and use gifs because I’m lazy and I can’t. I can’t review this book properly, I just don’t have it in me.

So, what’s wrong with this book? Well:

1. Characters are so boring I screamed.

Honestly, I get why Bowman made Gray such a despicable character so that readers can find some redeeming qualities and blah blah blah. But the other characters are annoying.  Stiff, stupid, etc. The only one I found slightly better than the rest is Emma because she’s a bitch to Gray at the end. That’s it, all the others make me want to:

2. World Building

The town of Claysoot is actually well put together. I could easily see how the community works and comes together as one. It’s realistic and well described but then is ruined by the country it is in. That country is just a sloppily done mess that’s built far too fast.

3. The love triangle

Can it even be called that? Because I feel like it’s better to describe it as children playing house. 

4. Predictable

Before the half way mark, I knew the ending.

I’ve read a few dystopian so I would have easily let a few of these things go. Crappy world building? Okay, fine. But then nothing good happened the whole time, nothing held my attention and made me grateful that I kept reading. Which is why I hate this book. A freaking lot.

1 Lonely Cloud

1 Lonely Cloud

 

For quotes from this book, click here.

9 thoughts on “Book Review: Taken (Taken#1) by Erin Bowman

  1. At first I was like “This is the only review for this book that’s been positive” but than the GIFS came and i just startedd laughing. Way to go Abbie. I myself haven’t read this one, at first i wanted to based on the synopsis but than all these negative reviews started coming out and I knew I just couldn’t. i’m sorry you didn’t like this one Abbie, hopefully your next read is more enjoyable.
    Lily @ Lilysbookblog

  2. I like how your thoughts on the book correlated to your review – it started out well, but then went downhill… not the quality of your review, just your thoughts on this book. I’m sorry you didn’t like this one that much, hope you enjoy your next read better!

  3. Honestly, I was a little surprised when I read the beginning, since I haven’t seen many positive reviews of this one. So I wasn’t that shocked when I found out you didn’t like it either.

  4. Pingback: 2013 End of Year Book Survey | A Lot Like Dreaming

Leave a Reply

